South Asia Foundation
  Home | About SAF | Contact SAF | Membership
  Sri Lanka - Political System
Overview Key Facts Political System Statistical Profile
Distance Learning
Vocational Training
Friendship Camps
Documentation and Information

Select Country Profiles

The 1978 Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka provides for a presidential form of government. The President is Head of the State, Head of Government, Head of the Cabinet and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces and is directly elected for a term of six years and eligible for re-election, with a maximum of two terms. Legislative power is exercised by Parliament, elected by universal franchise through proportional representation. Executive power, including defence, is exercised by the President who has the power to appoint and dismiss Her Prime Minister and Ministers and assume any portfolio himself/herself. He/She can dissolve Parliament and call mid-term presidential elections to seek a fresh mandate.

The Constitution: The first Constitution of Ceylon, adopted in 1948, was repealed in 1972 when the country became a Republic.
The second Republican Constitution was adopted in 1978. This vested executive power in a directly elected President.

President: Mrs. Chandrika Kumaratunga

Prime Minister:
Ranil Wickramasinghe

Judiciary: The Supreme Court is headed by a Chief Justice and has between six and ten associate justices. Supreme, Court of Appeal and High Court justices are appointed by the President. Superior Court justices can be removed on grounds of incompetence or misdemeanor by a majority of Parliament, whereas High Court justices may be removed by a judicial service commission consisting of Supreme Court justices. The Supreme Court has the power of judicial review and can order a referendum on special issues of national importance.

Election Commissioner:
Dayananda Dissanayake

  Home | About SAF | Contact SAF | Membership | Disclaimer